Guide to Faculty Expertise
 

 

Anthropology

For more information, visit the MIT Anthropology website.
 

Manduhai Buyandelger
617-324-5510
manduhai@mit.edu

Globalization/neoliberal governmentality in countries after socialism, namely Mongolia, Russia and post-Soviet Central Asia

Stefan Helmreich
617-253-9343
sgh2@mit.edu

Marine biology, space, scientific culture

James Howe, Emeritus
617-253-6954
jhowe@mit.edu

Political and historical anthropology,   indigenous-state relations, missionization

Jean Jackson, Emeritus
617-253-6953
jjackson@mit.edu

Medical anthropology, indigenous politics

Erica Caple James
617-253-7321
ejames@mit.edu

Medical humanities, gender and violence, religion and healing, issues of race and human rights

Heather Paxson
617-253-7859
paxson@mit.edu

American food politics, artisanal cheese making, gender, morality and abortion,   contemporary craft movements

Susan Silbey
617-253-6952
ssilbey@mit.edu

Law and science professional ethics, engineering education, women in science

Christine Walley
617-258-7908
cwalley@mit.edu

Gender, social class and identity, science and indigenous knowledge

 

 

Comparative Media Studies / Writing

For contact information, visit the MIT CMS/W website.
 

Marcia Bartusiak
617-452-3214
bar2siak@mit.edu

Media and science; astronomy; physics

Ian Condry
508-314-2567
condry@mit.edu

Media and globalization; media innovation and economics; new digital media

Junot Díaz
617-253-4010
junot@mit.edu

Literature and society; literary genre, writing, literary fiction

Heather Hendershot
617-324-4038
hshot@mit.edu

Media and politics; political discourse; American conservatism; film and genre

Eric Klopfer
617-253-2025
klopfer@mit.edu

Digital gaming and STEM education

Helen Elaine Lee
617-253-3060
helee@mit.edu

Fiction, incarceration, prison writing

Thomas Levenson
617-253-4069
levenson@mit.edu

Documentaries, film, and science

Alan Lightman
617-253-2308
lightman@mit.edu

Literary fiction, science, and physics

Kenneth Manning
617-253-4805
manning@mit.edu

Race, science, and medicine

Seth Mnookin
617-324-1868
smnookin@mit.edu

Media and society, medicine, vaccination

Nick Montfort
617-324-1429
nickm@nickm.com

Imaginative and poetic digital writing, Video and computer games, Material history of computational media, Interactive narrative

Jim Paradis
617-253-7392
jparadis@mit.edu

Popular representations of science; professionalism and vernacular culture

Lisa Parks
805-680-0252
lparks@mit.edu

Global media, satellite technologies and media cultures, critical studies of media infrastructures, militarization and surveillance

Edward Schiappa
617-253-3062
schiappa@mit.edu

Argumentation, classical rhetoric, media influence, and contemporary rhetorical theory

T.L. Taylor
617-324-4148
tltaylor@mit.edu

Internet and game studies

Phillip Tan
617-324-2173
philip@mit.edu

Digital, live-action, tabletop game design, production and management

William Uricchio
617-452-3182
uricchio@mit.edu

Media technologies and cultural practices, knowledge and the public, histories of “old” media, interactions of media cultures and their audiences

 

 

Economics 

For contact information, visit the MIT Economics website.
 

Alberto Abadie
617-715-2047
abadie@mit.edu

Econometrics, causal inference, program evaluation

Daron Acemoglu
617-253-1927
daron@mit.edu

Human capital, unemployment,
economic growth, wage inequality, relationship of economics to political structure

George-Marios Angeletos
617-452-3859
angelet@mit.edu

Global games, heterogenous information and expectations, self-fulfilling crises, incomplete markets, fiscal and monetary policy

Joshua Angrist
617-253-8909
angrist@mit.edu

Human capital, schooling, education, economics of the family

David Autor
617-258-7698
dautor@mit.edu

Trade, human capital, labor market impacts of technological change, consequences of employment protection, inequality

Abhijit Banerjee
617-253-8855
banerjee@mit.edu

International development, poverty alleviation, random controlled trials, income distribution, "Herd behavior" in financial and other markets

Ricardo Caballero
617-253-0489
caball@mit.edu

Frictions in financial and labor markets, speculative bubbles, restructuring

Victor Chernozhukov
617-253-4767
vchern@mit.edu

Econometric theory, financial econometrics, machine learning

Arnaud Costinot
617-324-1712
costinot@mit.edu

International trade

Peter Diamond, Emeritus
617-253-3363
pdiamond@mit.edu

U.S. Social Security, social insurance

Esther Duflo
617-258-7013
eduflo@mit.edu

Poverty alleviation, human resources in developing countries, industrial organization in developing countries

Glenn Ellison
617-253-8702
gellison@mit.edu

Game theory, industrial organization, technology adoption

Amy Finkelstein
617-253-4149
afink@mit.edu

Public finance, health economics, industrial organization

Drew Fudenberg
617-715-4582
drewf@mit.edu

Game theory, decision theory, behavioral economics, theoretical industrial organization, mechanism design

Robert Gibbons
617-253-0283
rgibbons@mit.edu

Organizational design and performance, relational contracts within and between firms, human resource management

Jonathan Gruber
617-253-8892
gruberj@mit.edu

Social Security and retirement, access to health care and health care outcomes, effects of employer-provided health insurance, Affordable Care Act

Jeffrey Harris
617-253-3399
jeffrey@mit.edu

Health economics, economics of the tobacco industry, economics of AIDS

Bengt Holstrom
617-253-0506
bengt@mit.edu

Contracting, leadership incentives, theory of organization, corporate finance

Mihai Manea
617-324-1894
manea@mit.edu

Microeconomic theory, game theory, network theory

Anna Mikusheva
617-324-5459
amikushe@mit.edu

Econometric theory, times series econometrics

Whitney Newey
617-253-6420
wnewey@mit.edu

Theoretical and applied econometrics

Benjamin Olken
617-253-6833
bolken@mit.edu

Political economy of developing countries, economics of climate change

Parag Pathak
617-253-7458
ppathak@mit.edu

Market-mechanism design, game theory, local public finance and education, financial markets

James Poterba
617-253-6673
poterba@mit.edu

Tax policy, retirement savings

Drazen Prelec
617-253-2833
dprelec@mit.edu

Psychology, decision theory, behavioral economics, neuroeconomics

Nancy Rose
617-253-8956
nrose@mit.edu

Firm behavior and industry performance

Robert Townsend
617-452-3722
rtownsen@mit.edu

Decentralization with private information, financial structure and growth

John Van Reenan
617-253-2932
vanreene@mit.edu

Innovation and productivity, labor, organization, management, public policy, health

Iván Werning
617-452-3662
iwerning@mit.edu

Macroeconomics, public economics, unemployment insurance design

Michael Whinston
617-258-8408
whinston@mit.edu

Industrial organization, antitrust policy, contract theory, organizations, health economics, innovation

Heidi Williams
617-324-4326
heidiw@mit.edu

Health economics, labor economics, public finance, innovation and productivity

Muhamet Yildiz
617-253-5331
myildiz@mit.edu

Game theory, bargaining

 

 

Global Studies and Languages

For contact information, visit the MIT GSL website.
 

Ian Condry
617-452-2709
condry@mit.edu

Japanese media and culture, Japanese anime and comic books (manga), Japanese nationalism

Shigeru Miyagawa
617-253-6346
miyagawa@mit.edu

Japanese language and culture, linguistics, origins of human language

Emma Teng
617-253-4536
eteng@mit.edu

Chinese and Asian American studies

Edward Baron Turk, Emeritus
ebturk@mit.edu

Contemporary French theater, French film history

Jing Wang
617-253-4859
jing@mit.edu

Media with a focus on the People's Republic of China

 

 

History 

For contact information, visit the MIT History website.
 

William Broadhead
617-258-6668
williamb@mit.edu

History of Italy during the Roman Republic

Christopher Capozzola
617-452-4960
capozzol@mit.edu

Political and cultural history of the U.S. from 1861-1945

John Dower, Emeritus
617-253-4965

Japanese history, U.S.-Japan relations

Robert M. Fogelson
617-253-1671
foge@mit.edu

Urban planning, suburbia, collective action

Malick W. Ghachem
617-324-7284
mghachem@mit.edu

Slavery and abolition, criminal law, and constitutional history

Eric Goldberg
617-324-2420
egoldber@mit.edu

Political and cultural history of late antiquity and the early middle ages

Philip Khoury
617-253-0887
khoury@mit.edu

Middle East politics and sociology

Christopher Leighton
617-324-0541
cleight@mit.edu

Modern China with a focus on business, culture, urban history, and the Chinese Communist Party

Anne McCants
617-258-6669
amccants@mit.edu

Medieval and early modern Europe, economic history, women's history

Jeffrey Ravel
617-253-4451
ravel@mit.edu

French and European political culture between the 17th and 19th centuries

Harriet Ritvo
617-258-6960
ritvo@mit.edu

British history, environmental history, natural history

Craig Steven Wilder
617-324-7537
cwilder@mit.edu

Race, religion, and culture

Elizabeth Wood
617-253-3255
elizwood@mit.edu

Soviet history

 

 

Linguistics 

For contact information, visit the MIT Linguistics website.
 

Adam Albright
617-252-1472
albright@mit.edu

Phonology, morphology, language acquisition, computational linguistics

Michel DeGraff
617-258-5270
degraff@mit.edu

Syntax, semantics, Creole languages, role of language in early education and nation building

Kai von Fintel
617-253-3228
fintel@mit.edu

Semantics, syntax

Edward Flemming
617-452-4183
flemming@mit.edu

Phonology, phonetics

Suzanne Flynn
617-253-7821
sflynn@mit.edu

Language acquisition, second language acquisition, autism, aphasia

Danny Fox
617-258-7411
fox@mit.edu

Syntax, semantics

Martin Hackl
617-253-9373
hackl@mit.edu

Syntax, semantics, modality, cognition of number and space

Irene Heim
617-253-2565
heim@mit.edu

Semantics

Sabine Iatridou
617-253-2640
iatridou@mit.edu

Syntax, semantics

Michael Kenstowicz
617-253-4457
kenstow@mit.edu

Phonology, phonetics, African and East Asian languages

Wayne O'Neil
617-253-2557
waoneil@mit.edu

Second language acquisition, language change, linguistics and education

David Pesetsky
617-253-0957
pesetsk@mit.edu

Syntax, morphology, language acquisition, Russian syntax

Norvin Richards
617-258-6837
norvin@mit.edu

Syntax, endangered languages, Austronesian languages

Roger Schwarzschild
617-324-7883
schild@mit.edu

Semantics

Donca Steriade
617-715-4066
steriade@mit.edu

Phonology, morphology, Greek and Latin

 

 

Literature

For contact information, visit the MIT Literature website.
 

Sandy Alexandre
617-253-4450
alexandy@mit.edu

19th and 20th century American and African-American literature and culture

Arthur Bahr
617-253-3616
awbahr@mit.edu

Old and Middle English literature, medieval London's literary, political, and legal culture

Eugenia Brinkema
617-253-3068
brinkema@mit.edu

Violence, affect, sexuality, aesthetics, and ethics in film and media

Jim Buzard
617-253-7649
jmbuzard@mit.edu

19th century British literature and culture, modernism

Peter Donaldson
617-253-1447
psdlit@mit.edu

Shakespeare, Machiavelli, education technology, digital archives

Mary Fuller
617-253-8848
mcfuller@mit.edu

Renaissance English literature, Milton, history of the book, literature of travel

Diana Henderson
617-253-5147
dianah@mit.edu

Shakespeare, women's literature, media studies

Noel Jackson
617-452-3597
njackson@mit.edu

Late 18th century Romantic literature and culture, poetry, science, and literature

Alvin Kibel
617-253-3580
akibel@mit.edu

History of ideas, literary theory, Darwin studies

Ruth Perry
617-253-8876
rperry@mit.edu

18th century studies, feminist literary and social history, history of the family

Shankar Raman
617-253-8873
sram@mit.edu

World literature, literature and probability, medieval and Renaissance literature

Margery Resnick
617-253-5277 
resnick@mit.edu

Contemporary Spain, history of women at MIT

Stephen Tapscott
617-253-4148
tapscott@mit.edu

Poetry, 20th century American literature and culture, translation

David Thorburn
617-253-6950
thorburn@mit.edu

Poetry, digital media, and society

 

 

Music

For contact information, visit the MIT Music & Theater Arts website.

 

Peter Child
(617) 253-9862
child@mit.edu

Composition

Michael Cuthbert
(617) 324-0460
cuthbert@mit.edu

14th century music, trecento fragments, composition since 1960, minimalism, computer-aided musicology; Music21 tools for musicology

Eran Egozy
(617) 253-1738
egozy@mit.edu

Music technology, music for video games, interactive music systems

John Harbison, Institute Prof.
(617) 253-3671
harbison@mit.edu

Composition, chamber music, jazz ensemble

Ellen Harris, Emeritus
(617) 253-5882
eharris@mit.edu

Handel, 18th century studies, Baroque opera and vocal performance

Frederick E. Harris, Jr.
(617) 452-2283
fharris@mit.edu

Wind and jazz ensembles, new music, conducting

Lowell Lindgren, Emeritus
(617) 253-3210
lindgren@mit.edu

17th and 18th century studies, opera in Rome, Italians in Handelian London, stage design

Keeril Makan
(617) 324-2195
keeril@mit.edu

Minimalism, composition, theory

Patricia Tang
(617) 452-3572
ptang@mit.edu

West African music, Senegalese drumming

Marcus Thompson, Institute Professor
(617) 253-6951
bratsche@mit.edu

Chamber music, performance studies, viola

Evan Ziporyn
(617) 452-2302
zipo@mit.edu

Composition, world music, avant-garde, jazz, classical

 

 

Philosophy 

For contact information, visit the MIT Philosophy website.
 

Sylvain Bromberger, Emeritus
(617) 253-4141
sbromber@mit.edu

Philosophy of language, philosophy of science

Alex Byrne
(617) 258-6106
abyrne@mit.edu

Philosophy of mind, language, metaphysics, epistemology

Caspar Hare
(617) 253-2648
casparh@mit.edu

Ethics, metaphysics

Sally Haslanger
(617) 253-4458
shaslang@mit.edu

Metaphysics, epistemology, ancient philosophy, feminist theory

Vann McGee
(617) 253-6394
vmcgee@mit.edu

Philosophical logic, philosophy of mathematics, philosophy of language

Agustin Rayo
(617) 253-2559
arayo@mit.edu

Philosophy of logic, mathematics, and language

Kieran Setiya
(617) 715-4264
ksetiya@mit.edu

Ethics, epistemology, philosophy of mind

Brad Skow
(617) 253-4147
bskow@mit.edu

Philosophy of science, physics, metaphysics, philosophy of time

Robert Stalnaker, Emeritus
(617) 253-4072
stal@mit.edu

Philosophy of mind, language, metaphysics

Judith Thomson, Emeritus
(617) 253-0216
jjt@mit.edu

Moral philosophy, metaphysics

Roger White
(617) 253-3554
rog@mit.edu

Philosophy of science, epistemology, metaphyiscs

Stephen Yablo
(617) 258-0740
yablo@mit.edu

Metaphysics, philosophy of mind, philosophical logic, philosophy of language

 

 

Political Science 

For contact information, visit the MIT Political Science website.
 

Suzanne Berger
(617) 253-6640
szberger@mit.edu

Comparative politics, political economy

Adam Berinsky
(617) 253-8190
berinsky@mit.edu

Political behavior of ordinary citizens

Andrea Campbell
(617) 253-2295
acampbel@mit.edu

American politics, political behavior, public opinion, political inequality, social policy, politics of healthcare insurance

Nazli Choucri
(617) 452-6198
nchoucri@mit.edu

International relations, onternational political economy, political and strategic implications of e-development, e-knowledge, and e-politics

Fotini Christia
(617) 324-5595
cfotini@mit.edu

Ethnicity and civil wars, Afghanistan, Bosnia, public policy

Taylor Fravel
(617) 324-0222
fravel@mit.edu

International security, China's foreign and security policies

Francis Gavin
(512) 779-3885
fgavin@mit.edu

Nuclear security policy, international relations

F. Daniel Hidalgo
(617) 253-8078
dhidalgo@mit.edu

Political economy of elections and campaigns, representation in developing democracies, Latin American elections

Chappell Lawson
(617) 452-3524
clawson@mit.edu

Mexican political economy, survey research, U.S. foreign policy

Evan Lieberman
(617) 324-1642
evanlieb@mit.edu

Development and ethnic conflict in sub-Saharan Africa

Melissa Nobles
(617) 253-3450
mnobles@mit.edu

Comparative study of racial and ethnic politics, Retrospective justice

Ken Oye
(617) 253-3412
oye@mit.edu

Science, technology policy, environmental policy

Roger Petersen
(617) 253-6781
rpeters@mit.edu

Comparative politics with focus on conflict and violence

Barry Posen
(617) 253-8088
posen@mit.edu

U.S. national security policy, the Iraq war, nuclear proliferations in the Middle East/Persian Gulf

Richard Samuels
(617) 253-2449
samuels@mit.edu

Comparative politics focusing on Japan

Ben Ross Schneider
(617) 253-7207
brs@mit.edu

Comparative politics, political economy, and Latin American politics

David Singer
(617) 253-9372
dasinger@mit.edu

International political economy, financial regulation, central banking

Charles Stewart
(617) 253-3127
cstewart@mit.edu

American politics, elections

Kathleen Thelen
(617) 324-3651
kthelen@mit.edu

The origins and evolution of political-economic institutions in democracies

Lily Tsai
(617) 253-6643
l_tsai@mit.edu

Accountability, governance, state-society relations, Chinese society

Stephen Van Evera
(617) 253-0530
vanevara@mit.edu

International relations, WWI, American defense policy

 

 

Science, Technology, and Society

For more information, visit the MIT STS website.
 

Michael Fischer
(617) 253-2564
mfischer@mit.edu

Social and ethical issues in bioscience and biotechnology, Law and ethics on the electronic frontier

Deborah Fitzgerald
(617) 253-8077
dkfitz@mit.edu

Agriculture and technology in society

David Kaiser
(617) 452-3173
dikaiser@mit.edu

History of science and the role of institutions in innovation

Jennifer Light
(617) 452-2390
jslight@mit.edu

History of using scientific methods and technological tools to solve social and political problems

Kenneth Manning
(617) 253-4805
manning@mit.edu

Role of blacks in American science and medicine

Clapperton Mavhunga
(617) 324-2792
mavhunga@mit.edu

Interaction between people, science, technology and nature/environment in Africa

David Mindell
(617) 452-2283
fharris@mit.edu

History of space exploration, Deep ocean robotic archaeology

Hanna Rose Shell
(617) 253-1943
hrshell@mit.edu

Film studies, museum studies, multimedia and installation art

Merritt Roe Smith
(617) 253-4008
roesmith@mit.edu

History of technology, technological innovation, politics, and society

Sherry Turkle
(617) 253-4068
sturkle@mit.edu

Robots, digital pets, and simulated creatures designed for children and the elderly, impact of technology on face to face conversations

Rosalind Williams
(617) 253-2847
rhwill@mit.edu

History of technology, environmental changes of late 19th century Europe

 

 

Theater Arts

For contact information, visit the Music & Theater Arts website.

 

Alan Brody, Emeritus

(617) 253-4892
brody@mit.edu

History of theater, playwriting

Sara Brown
(617) 253-0862
saralb@mit.edu

Scenic design

Charlotte Brathwaite
(646) 204-1813
cbrath@mit.edu

Directing; staging; performance art; race, gender, and power

Claire Conceison
(617) 851-5226
claireco@mit.edu

Chinese theater, Asian American theatre, sport as performance

Jay Scheib
(617) 253-3210
jscheib@mit.edu

Contemporary theater production

Janet Sonenberg
(617) 253-1131
json@mit.edu

Theater direction, production, acting