MIT School of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences - Great Ideas Change the World

Faculty Committees

electrical activity of neurons

SHASS Committees | 2016-2017


Burchard Faculty Fellows Committee

Margery Resnick, Director
Justin Khoo
Martin Marks
Amy Moran-Thomas
Tanalís Padilla
Agustín Rayo
Charles Shadle
Bettina Stoetzer 

SHASS Education Advisory Committee (SHEAC) 

Agustín Rayo, Chair
Christopher Leighton
Bradford Skow
Janet Sonenberg

SHASS Faculty Diversity Committee 

Agustín Rayo, Chair
Vivek Bald
Elizabeth Wood

De Florez Humor Fund Committee

Seth Mnookin, Chair
Mark Harvey
Sabine Levet
Kieran Setiya
Hanna Rose Shell 

Mellon Postdoctoral Fellowship Selection Committee

Marah Gubar
Nick Montfort
Emily Pollock

SHASS Fund and Levitan Prize Committee

Christopher Capozzola
Heather Hendershot 
Roger Petersen

SHASS Faculty Serving on MIT Committees


Standing Committees of the Faculty

Committee on Academic Performance

Nazli Choucri (2017)
Merritt Roe Smith (2017)
Charles Stewart, chair (2014-2016)
Merritt Roe Smith (2013)

Committee on Campus Planning

Bengt Holmstrom (2017)
Andrea Campbell (2017)

Committee on Curricula

Edward Flemming (2017)
Anna Mikusheva (2017)
Anne E. C. McCants (Chair, 2016)
Shankar Raman (Chair, 2015)

Committee on Discipline

Suzanne Flynn (Chair, 2017)
Norvin Richards (2017)
Alexander Byrne (2013)

Faculty Policy Committee

Sandy Alexandre (2017)
Caspar Hare (2017)
Susan Silbey (2017)
Mary Fuller (Associate Chair, 2014)
Richard Locke (2014)
Chappell Lawson (Secretary of the Faculty, 2013)

Committee on Graduate Programs

Donca Steriade (Chair, 2017)
Bradford Skow (2017)
Mary Fuller (Associate Chair of the Faculty, 2013)
Kathleen Thelen (2014)

Committee on the Library System

Adam Albright (Chair, 2017)
Jeffrey S. Ravel (2017)
Richard Holton (2015)
Nick Montfort (2014)

Committee on Nominations

Kai von Fintel (2017)
Mary Fuller (2016)
Edward Steinfeld (2013)

Committee on Student Life

Roger Schwarzschild (2017)
Janet Sonenberg (2017)

Committee on Undergraduate Admissions and Financial Aid

Fotini Christia (2017)
Roger White (2017)
Craig Wilder, Chair (2013)

Committee on the Undergraduate Program

Joshua Angrist (2017)
Douglas Alan Harrell (2016)
Mary Fuller, Associate Chair of the Faculty (2013)
Diana Henderson, Dean for Undergraduate Education Designate
Noel Jackson, (2013)

Other Faculty Committees

Subcommittee on the Communication Requirement

Agustín Rayo, ex officio, Designate for the Dean of SHASS
Adam Albright (2017)
James Buzard (Co-chair, 2016-2017)
Malick Ghachem (2017)
Lerna Ekmekcioglu (2016)
Adam Albright (2016)
Caspar Hare (Co-chair Fall 2012)
William Broadhead (2014)
Kai von Fintel, ex officio
Diana Henderson, ex officio
Nick Montfort, ex officio

Harold E. Edgerton Faculty Achievement Award Selection Committee

Kieran Setiya (2017)
Emma Teng (2016)

Faculty Newsletter Editorial Board

Manduhai Buyandelger (2017)
Nazli Choucri (2017)
Helen Elaine Lee (2017)
Ruth Perry (2017)
Jean Jackson
Rosalind Williams

Subcommittee on the HASS Requirement

Marah Gubar (2017)
Anne McCants (Chair, 2017)
Emily Pollock (2017)
Agustín Rayo, ex officio, Designate for the Dean of SHASS (2016-2017)
Kai von Fintel, Dean of SHASS Designate
Diana Henderson, Dean for Undergraduate Education Designate
Sandy Alexandre (2015)
Natasha Schüll (2015)
Helen Elaine Lee (Chair, 2014)
Patricia Tang (2014)
Margery Resnick (2013)
Christine Walley (Chair, 2013)

James R. Killian, Jr. Faculty Achievement Award Selection Committee

Daniel Fox (2017)
Janet Sonenberg (Chair, 2016)
Jens Hainmueller (2013)


Institute Committees Appointed by the President

Committee on Animal Care

Stefan Helmreich (2015)

Everett Moore Baker Memorial Foundation Advisory Board

William Broadhead (2017)

Commencement Committee

Heather Paxson (2017)

Community Giving at MIT Campaign Committee

Jerry Hausman (2013)

Community Service Fund Board

Helen Elaine Lee (Chair, 2017)

DAPER Advisory Board

Nazli Choucri (2017)

Presidential Committee on Distinguished Fellowships

Sandy Alexandre (2017)
Arthur Bahr (2017)
William Broadhead (2017)
Fotini Christia (2017)
Stephanie Frampton (2017)
M. Taylor Fravel (2017)

Council on Family and Work

Patricia J. Tang (2017)
Sally Haslanger (2013)

Committee on the Hobby Shop

Roger White (2017)

Committee on Intellectual Property

David Thorburn (2013)

MIT Medical Management Board

Janet Sonenberg (2017)

MIT Press Editorial Board

Fox Harrell (2017)
David Kaiser (Chair, 2016-2017)
Nick Montfort (2016-2017)
Robert Townsend (2013, 2016-2017)

MIT Press Management Board

David Kaiser (2017)

Prehealth Advising Committee

Ericia James (2017)

Committee on Race and Diversity

Lily Tsai (2017)

ROTC Oversight Committee

Roger Peterson (2017)

Committee on Sexual Misconduct Prevention and Response

Sara Ellison (2017)
Sally Haslanger (2017)
David Singer (Chair, 2017)

Supplemental 401(k) Plan Oversight Committee

Glenn Ellison (2017)

Committee for Transporation and Parking

Christopher Warshaw (2017)

Committee on the Use of Humans as Experimental Subjects (COUHES) 

Adam Berinsky (2017)

Other Institute Committees and Councils

Campus Sustainability Task Force

Andrea Campbell (Chair, 2017)

Committee for Renovation and Space Planning (CRSP)

Philip Khoury (2017)

Compton Advisory Committee

Philip Khoury (Chair, 2017)


Corporation Joint Advisory Committee on Institute-Wide Affairs  (CJAC)

Mary Fuller (2017


Employee Benefits Oversight Committee
Work-Life Subcommittee

Sandy Alexandre (2017)

International Advisory Committee

Philip Khoury, Co-Chair (2017)
J. Chappell Lawson (2017)
Suzanne Berger

Phi Beta Kappa Xi of Massachusetts Chapter, MIT
Arthur Bahr
Diana Henderson
Anne McCants
Jeffrey Ravel


Sandy Alexandre - East Campus
Adam Berinsky - Ashdown House
Suzanne Flynn – Maseeh Hall
Charles Stewart – McCormick House
Anne McCants – Burton-Connor House
David Mindell – Edgerton House
David Singer – MacGregor House
Jay Scheib – Senior House

Environmental Research Council

Michael Greenstone (2010)
Harriet Ritvo (2010)

Energy and Environment Board

Susan Silbey (2010)

MIT Council on Educational Technology

Diana Henderson (2014)
Nick Montfort (2014)


Updated March 23, 2017