Revised distribution component of MIT's HASS Requirement —
begins Fall 2010 for incoming freshmen   


As part of Institute's undergraduate curriculum, the HASS (Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences) Requirement is designed to prepare MIT students for leadership contributions, lifelong learning in every field, and global citizenship. In May 2009, the MIT faculty approved recommendations to change the structure of one aspect of the HASS Requirement — the distribution component.  

Revised distribution component begins with Fall 2010 incoming freshmen

The CUP Subcommittee on the HASS Requirement has determined that first-year students entering in Fall 2010 will be the first cohort to follow the revised distribution component of the HASS Requirement.  

Undergraduates who entered before Fall 2010 are not affected

Undergraduates who entered before Fall 2010 are not affected by the revision, and will continue to fulfill the existing HASS distribution requirement (known as the HASS-D). MIT is committed to offering a full range of HASS-D subjects for the next three years so that all current students are able to complete this requirement.

The revised distribution component plan 
The revised plan, a shift from the current five-category distribution, will provide students with more flexibility and choice to pursue their intellectual interests. More than 600 subjects will satisfy the revised distribution requirement. Under the revised distribution requirement, incoming freshmen in Fall 2010 and beyond will be required to take one HASS subject from each of the following categories:

      Social Sciences

Only the distribution component of the HASS Requirement is affected
All other aspects of MIT's HASS Requirement remain unchanged. There is also no impact on the Communication Requirement.

For more information:

About the HASS Distribution Component

MIT HASS Requirement website


Story at MIT News