2011 Levitan Awards for Excellence in Teaching Announced 

Dean Fitzgerald has announced the 2011 recipients of the James A. and Ruth Levitan Award for Excellence in Teaching, saying "Warmest congratulations to these educators and colleagues, who represent the very best academic leadership in the School."


Heather Paxson | Anthropology
Will Broadhead | History
Ken Oye | Political Science

Adam Boyles | Music and Theater Arts
Skip Eiland | Literature
Teresa Neff | Music and Theater Arts
Kym Ragusa | Writing and Humanistic Studies

Teaching Assistant 
Daniel Barron | Economics


This award recognizes SHASS  teachers—professors, lecturers, and graduate teaching assistants—who make a profound difference in the educational experience of MIT undergraduates.

Nominations are made only by students themselves, through the course of the academic year, and reflect the positive role that our educators play in the day-to-day, week-to-week efforts of MIT students as they engage with and excel in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. 

The 2011 award recipients were chosen by the SHASS Education Advisory Committee, chaired by Associate Dean von Fintel, which included Edward Flemming (Linguistics), Eric Goldberg (History), Helen Elaine Lee (Writing and Humanistic Studies), Roger Petersen (Political Science), Emma Teng (Foreign Languages and Literatures), and Laura Royden (UG, 2013).

Award-winning faculty members and lecturers each receive $2,000 in research funding; graduate student Teaching Assistants receive $1,000.