IAP Stand-Up Comedy Crash Course

 


Image via Canva
 



Dan Crohn, Instructor

 

Tue 1/4/2022

     2:00 PM to 4:00 PM

     

Zoom

Thu 1/6/2022

     2:00 PM to 4:00 PM

 

Zoom

Tue 1/11/2022

     2:00 PM to 4:00 PM

 

Zoom

Thu 1/13/2022

     2:00 PM to 4:00 PM

 

Zoom

Tue 1/18/2022

     2:00 PM to 4:00 PM

 

Zoom

Thu 1/20/2022

     2:00 PM to 4:00 PM

 

Zoom

Tue 1/25/2022

     2:00 PM to 4:00 PM

 

Zoom

Thu 1/27/2022

     5:00 PM to 7:00 PM

 

Zoom

Fri 1/28/2022

     6:30 PM to 9:00 PM

 

Zoom

 

Enrollment: Advanced sign-up required via essay 
Sign-up by 12/20/2021 
Limited to 12 participants 

 

Attendance: Participants must attend all sessions

Do you want to make people laugh? Here’s your chance. In this crash course, you will go from the fundamentals of comedy writing and performance technique to constructing your own stand-up set. Material will be workshopped in a supportive, constructive environment led by stand-up comedian Dan Crohn, who has appeared on Last Comic Standing and the popular WTF podcast with Marc Maron. With years of experience teaching and performing stand-up, Dan will help you work towards a final graduation performance, MC-ed by him and scheduled for Friday, January 28, 2022

Applicants should send a 300-word essay to stand-up-comedy@mit.edu by December 20 explaining why they want to take this series.  Participants must commit to regular attendance and to the final performance on Jan. 28.  Prepare to amuse!  Funded by the De Florez Fund For Humor.

Sponsor(s): Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences
Contact: Kieran Setiya, 32-D916, 617-715-4264, stand-up-comedy@mit.edu

 

 

Suggested links

MIT SHASS De Florez Fund for Humor

Previously funded De Florez projects