Faculty Honors and Awards | 2011 


Bengt Holmstrom awarded Senior Banque de France-TSE Prize in Monetary Economics and Finance
Bengt Holmstrom has been awarded the 2011 Senior Banque de France-TSE Prize in Monetary Economics and Finance for his analysis of liquidity under asymmetric information.

Perreau receives Newton Fellowship from the British Academy,
and a Research Associate appointment from Cambridge University

Earlier this year, Bruno Perreau, Assistant Professor of French Studies, was awarded a Newton Fellowship from the British Academy. In November 2011, Perreau was also appointed as a Research Associate at Jesus College, Cambridge University. Story + 3 Questions with Perreau
More + 3 Questions

Townsend wins Laffont Prize in Economics      

MIT economist Robert M. Townsend, an expert in the ways financial systems and practices can contribute to the growth of developing economies, has been named winner of the Jean-Jacques Laffont Prize in economics for 2011. Townsend, the Killian Professor of Economics at MIT, will receive the award in January 2012 in Toulouse, France, where he will give a lecture titled “Financial Design and Economic Development.” 

Pauline Maier wins George Washington Book Prize    

Pauline Maier, William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of American History, in MIT's School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences, has won the 2011 George Washington Book Prize for her book Ratification: The People Debate the Constitution, 1787-1788Ratification has been widely hailed as the definitive story of the most consequential political debate in American history. The George Washington Book Prize is co-sponsored by Washington College, the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History and George Washington's Mt. Vernon. Its $50,000 Award is the largest prize nationwide for a book on early American history, and one of the largest literary prizes of any kind.  


2011 Levitan Awards for Excellence in Teaching Announced   
The School's Teaching Award Selection Committee has announced the recipients of the 2011 James A. and Ruth Levitan Awards for Excellence in Teaching. Warmest congratulations to these educators and colleagues, who represent the very best academic leadership in the School. 


John Harbison wins AMC's Founder Award 

Institute Professor John Harbison was presented on Monday night with the American Music Center’s Founders Award, given since 1999 for lifetime achievement in the field of new American music. Previous winners of the award have included Elliott Carter, Steve Reich, Charles Ives, Count Basie and Philip Glass. 
Full story at MIT News

Charles Stewart III elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences
Stewart, the Kenan Sahin Distinguished Professor of Political Science, is among the 212 new members elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. The Academy is one of the most prestigious honorary societies in the nation and is a leader in independent policy research. This high honor recognizes the excellence and impact of Stewart’s work in areas of congressional politics, elections, and American political development. 


Adam Berinsky wins 2011 Levitan Award in the Humanities

Deborah K. Fitzgerald, Kenan Sahin Dean of the School of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences, is delighted to announce that the James A. (1945) and Ruth Levitan Prize in the Humanities has been awarded to Adam Berinsky, Associate Professor of Political Science. The $25,000 prize is awarded annually as a research fund to support innovative and creative scholarship in the humanities by faculty members in MIT's School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences. The prize, first awarded in 1990, was established through a gift from the late James A. Levitan, a 1945 MIT graduate in chemistry, who was also a member of the MIT Corporation.  


Jay Scheib, Associate Professor of Theater Arts, wins 2011 Guggenheim Fellowship 

Scheib was chosen from among thousands of distinguished artists, scholars, and scientists as a 2011 Guggenehim Fellow. The prestigious Guggenheim Fellowship is an award for advanced, mid-career professionals, who are chosen from among thousands of distinguished artists, scholars, and scientists. Fellowships are awarded to those who have "demonstrated exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or exceptional creative ability in the arts," and are designed to allow recipients time to work with "as much creative freedom as possible." 

Pesetsky named Fellow by the American Association for the Advancement of Science
David Pesetsky, Ferrari P. Ward Professor of Modern Languages and Linguistics, has been named a Fellow by the American Association for the Advancement of Science.  Five other members of the MIT community have received this distinction as well. Pesetsky, who is also Margaret MacVicar Faculty Fellow, was chosen for “his innovative and critical research on syntactic theory, connecting it to issues in phonology, morphology, reading, language acquisition and neuroscience, and for his contributions to linguistic education at many levels.” 

Bartusiak Awarded the Davis Prize
The History of Science Society has awarded the Watson Davis and Helen Miles Davis Prize to Marcia Bartusiak for The Day We Found the Universe, (Pantheon), calling it "a beautifully written, informative book on a critical topic in the history of science" and a "rich, complex, yet crystal-clear narrative" that depicts a seminal moment in history.