2010 Levitan Awards for Excellence in Teaching Announced  

The School's Teaching Award Selection Committee has announced the recipients of the 2010 James A. and Ruth Levitan Awards for Excellence in Teaching.

Congratulations to:  

Peter Child (Music and Theater Arts)
Stephen Ryan (Economics)
Lily Tsai (Political Science)

Rebecca Faery (Writing and Humanistic Studies)
Steve Strang (Writing and Humanistic Studies)
Amadou Lamine Touré (Music and Theater Arts)

Teaching Assistant 
Omer Preminger (Linguistics)


These awards, which are based on nominations from students themselves, honor Faculty members, Lecturers, and Teaching Assistants who have demonstrated outstanding ability in teaching MIT undergraduates and graduate students and in helping them succeed academically. Faculty members and Lecturers each receive $2,000 in research funding; graduate student Teaching Assistants receive $1,000.

Serving on the 2010 Teaching Award Selection Committee were Associate Dean Kai von Fintel, and Professors Jon Gruber (Economics) and Jean Jackson (Anthropology).