The Listening Room
A curated collection of the finest works from MIT's Music Program

 Classical                 World                  Jazz                       Faculty Opus   


“The MIT mission is to serve humanity, and the arts provide a powerful way for our students to grow in knowledge and understanding of the human condition.”  

— Marcus Thompson, Institute Professor

Explore the collection

The Listening Room is an online collection of music composed and/or performed by MIT’s renowned Music faculty and extraordinary student-musicians—many of whom are selected to study in MIT's conservatory-level Emerson Scholars Program. The 64+ current recordings are presented in four musical categories — Classical, Jazz, World, and Faculty Opus. These recordings exemplify the arts at MIT, which are rooted in experimentation, excellence, and imaginative problem-solving. 

To explore the collection, click any of the four channels above, or on the Listening Room channel links on the navigation bar to the left. 

Story at MIT News

Video | Music at MIT

MIT Music Website

Featured Works 

Birk's Works, by Dizzy Gillespie, MIT Festival Jazz Ensemble  play 

In Praise of MIT, by John B. Wilber '22, Arranged by John Harbison  play