MIT SHASS Economist Amy Finkelstein wins John Bates Clark Medal Lauded for work on health care markets


MIT economist Amy Finkelstein, a leader in studying health insurance markets, was named winner today of the prestigious John Bates Clark Medal, an annual award given by the American Economic Association (AEA).

In its announcement of the 2012 medal, the AEA noted that Finkelstein’s work “is centered on some of the most important and policy-relevant issues facing developed economies today,” adding that her research stands “as a model of how theory and empirics can be combined in creative ways in order to yield credible, novel, and often unexpected insights into economic questions that will inform policy design.

The Clark Medal is given to an economist under the age of 40 “who is judged to have made the most significant contribution to economic thought and knowledge.” 

“I’m honored and very humbled to have won it,” Finkelstein told MIT News this afternoon; she found out about the award by phone shortly before it was announced publicly.