2012 Levitan Awards for Excellence in Teaching announced

The best of the best 

Announcing the 2012 recipients of the James A. and Ruth Levitan Award for Excellence in Teaching in the School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences, Dean Fitzgerld said, "This prize honors those instructors in our School who have demonstrated outstanding success in teaching our undergraduate and graduate students. These great educators, who are nominated by students themselves, have really made a difference in the lives of our remarkable students, and represent the very best academic leadership in the School. Warmest congratulations!"


2012 Recipients

Arthur Bahr | Literature
Eugenie Brinkema | Literature
Graham Jones | Anthropology

Nilma Dominique | Foreign Languages and Literatures
Jane Dunphy | Foreign Languages and Literatures
Lucy Marx | Writing and Humanistic Studies

Teaching Assistant 
Gabriel Carroll | Economics



This award recognizes SHASS teachers—professors, lecturers, and graduate teaching assistants—who make a profound difference in the educational experience of MIT undergraduates.

Nominations are made, by students themselves, through the course of the academic year, and reflect the positive role that our educators play in the day-to-day, week-to-week efforts of MIT students as they engage with and excel in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. 

The 2012 award recipients were chosen by the SHASS Education Advisory Committee, chaired by Interim Associate Dean Christopher Capozzola, which included Michael Cuthbert (Music and Theater Arts), Eric Goldberg (History), Hanna Rose Shell (Science, Technology, and Society), Jing Wang (Foreign Languages and Literatures), and Laura Royden (UG, 2013).

Award-winning faculty members and lecturers each receive $2,000 in research funding; graduate student Teaching Assistants receive $1,000.