MIT economist Anna Mikusheva receives
the 2012 Elaine Bennett Research Prize



                   "This prize is a wonderful recognition of a promising scholar.”
                              — Whitney Newey, the Carlton Professor of Economics,
                                 and Head, MIT Department of Economics 



Prize recognizes outstanding young women in economics

MIT economist Anna Mikusheva has been awarded the 2012 Elaine Bennett Research Prize from the American Economic Association’s Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession (CSWEP).

The prize, conferred every other year to recognize, support, and encourage outstanding contributions by young women in economics, was awarded to Mikusheva for her contributions to econometric theory. She joins two previous award winners from MIT: Esther Duflo, the Abdul Latif Jameel Professor of Poverty Alleviation and Development Economics, and Amy Finkelstein, the Ford Professor of Economics.

MIT's Duflo and Finkelstein are previous winners

“I am extremely excited and much honored by the award,” said Mikusheva, the Castle-Krob Career Development Associate Professor of Economics. “Whenever your name is mentioned on the same page as Esther Duflo and Amy Finkelstein, you instantly know that something very good happened in your life and career. The list of previous recipients of the prize blows my mind—they all are stellar economists and amazing women. I still cannot fully believe that I was added to this list.”

Mikusheva's research advances the field

research, which combines econometric theory with tools for tackling problems in applied econometric practice, has advanced the field in two important areas, according to the CSWEP. The first provides solutions to the challenging problem of forming accurate confidence intervals for a broad class of time series models used in applied macroeconomic research. The second provides new tools for hypothesis testing by addressing inference in weakly identified models.

“Anna has done outstanding research on empirical methods for macroeconomic data. She solved longstanding problems of inference for non-stationary data and for modern macroeconomic models,” said Whitney Newey, the Jane Berkowitz Carlton and Dennis William Carlton Professor of Economics and head of the Department of Economics. “She is also an outstanding teacher. This prize is a wonderful recognition of a promising scholar.”

Mikusheva joined the MIT faculty in 2007; she has a Ph.D. in economics from Harvard University and a Ph.D. in mathematics from Moscow State University. In 2008, she was named the Economics Department’s Graduate Teacher of the Year.

Initially, Mikusheva will be recognized at CSWEP’s annual business luncheon during the 2013 American Economic Association meetings in San Diego; Mikusheva will formally accept the Bennett Prize at the 2014 meetings in Philadelphia. 

About the Prize

The Elaine Bennett Research Prize was established in 1998 in memory of Elaine Bennett, who made significant contributions in economic theory and experimental economics and encouraged the work of young women in all areas of economics.

Suggested Links

Mikusheva Webpage
MIT Department of Economics 

Elaine Bennett Research Prize
Previous recipients + photographs