2013 Levitan Awards for Excellence in Teaching announced

The best of the best 

Announcing the 2013 recipients of the James A. and Ruth Levitan Award for Excellence in Teaching in the School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences, Dean Fitzgerld said, "This prize honors those instructors in our School who have demonstrated outstanding success in teaching our undergraduate and graduate students. These great educators, who are nominated by students themselves, have really made a difference in the lives of our remarkable students — and are among the finest academic leaders in the School. Warmest congratulations!"

2013 Recipients

David Autor | Economics
Chappell Lawson | Political Science

Tong Chen | Foreign Languages and Literatures
Dave Custer | Experimental Study Group and Writing Across the Curriculum
Margarita Groeger | Foreign Languages and Literatures
Frederick Harris | Music

Teaching Assistant 
Isaac Gould | Linguistics



This award recognizes SHASS teachers—professors, lecturers, and graduate teaching assistants—who make a profound difference in the educational experience of MIT undergraduates.

Nominations are made, by students themselves, through the course of the academic year, and reflect the positive role that our educators play in the day-to-day, week-to-week efforts of MIT students as they engage with and excel in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. 

The 2013 award recipients were chosen by the SHASS Education Advisory Committee, chaired by Associate Dean Kai von Fintel, which included Fotini Christia (Political Science), Pete Donaldson (Literature), Heather Paxson (Anthropology), Jeff Ravel (History), Jing Wang (Foreign Languages and Literatures), and Krishna Esteva (UG, 2013).

Award-winning faculty members and lecturers each receive $2,000 in research funding; graduate student Teaching Assistants receive $1,000. 


Suggested Links 

James A. and Ruth Levitan Award for Excellence in Teaching