Peter Matthiessen at MIT to receive the
2013 PEN New England Thoreau Award


   Thursday, April 11, 2013
                           7pm | MIT


Peter Matthiessen, a three-time National Book Award-winning American novelist and nonfiction writer will be at MIT receive the Thoreau Award for Literary Excellence in Nature Writing, presented by Pen New England. Previous recipients include Gary Snyder (2012), E.O. Wilson (2011) and Gretel Ehrlich (2010).  


Shadow Country by Peter Matthiesen
2008 National Book Award recipient

''[B]rilliantly told, not just a tour de force in its stylistic range, but a great American novel, as powerful a reading experience as nearly any in our literature. A bravura performance, at once history, fiction, and myth—as well as the capstone to the career of one of the most admired and admirable writers of our time.''  — The New York Review of Books