2014 Levitan Awards for Excellence in Teaching announced



Recipients of the James A. and Ruth Levitan Award for Excellence in Teaching in the School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences (MIT SHASS) are among the finest teachers at the Institute. 

Announcing the 2014 award recipients Dean Fitzgerald said, "This prize honors those instructors in our School who have demonstrated outstanding success in teaching our undergraduate and graduate students. These great educators, who are nominated by students themselves, have made a difference in the lives of our remarkable students — and are among the finest academic leaders in the School.

Warmest congratulations!

2014 Recipients

Christopher Leighton | History
Susan Silbey | Anthropology
Lucas Stanczyk | Political Science
Patricia Tang | Music

Ellen Crocker | Foreign Languages and Literatures
Cathy Culot | Foreign Languages and Literatures
David Deveau | Music

Teaching Assistants
Matthew Rognlie | Economics
Alec Worsnop | Political Science



This award recognizes SHASS teachers—professors, lecturers, and graduate teaching assistants—who make a profound difference in the educational experience of MIT undergraduate and graduate students.    

Nominations are made, by students themselves, through the course of the academic year, and reflect the positive role that our educators play in the day-to-day, week-to-week efforts of MIT students as they engage with and excel in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. 

The 2014 award recipients were chosen by the SHASS Education Advisory Committee, chaired by Associate Dean Kai von Fintel, which included Fotini Christia (Political Science), Myke Cuthbert (Music), Peter Donaldson (Literature), Heather Paxson (Anthropology), Martin Hackl (Linguistics and Philosophy), and Elise Ruan '14. 

Suggested Links 

About the Award

Gallery of Previous Levitan Teaching Award Recipients