2015 SHASS Levitan Teaching Awards announced


Recipients of the James A. and Ruth Levitan Teaching Awards in the School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences (MIT SHASS) are among the finest teachers at the Institute. 

Announcing the 2015 award recipients Dean Fitzgerald said, “This prize honors those instructors in our School who have demonstrated outstanding success in teaching our undergraduate and graduate students. These great educators, who are nominated by students themselves, have made a difference in the lives of our remarkable students — and are among the finest academic leaders in the School.”

Warmest congratulations!

2015 Recipients



Michael Cuthbert | Music and Theater Arts
Mary Fuller | Literature
Merritt Roe Smith | Science, Technology, and Society
Jing Wang | Global Studies and Languages


Takako Aikawa | Global Studies and Languages
Min-Min Liang | Global Studies and Languages
Haohsiang Liao | Global Studies and Languages
Jin Zhang | Global Studies and Languages



This award recognizes SHASS teachers—professors, lecturers, and graduate teaching assistants—who make a profound difference in the educational experience of MIT undergraduate and graduate students.

Nominations are made, by students themselves, through the course of the academic year and reflect the positive role that our educators play in the day-to-day, week-to-week efforts of MIT students as they engage with and excel in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. 

The 2015 award recipients were chosen by the SHASS Education Advisory Committee, chaired by Associate Dean Kai von Fintel, which included Professor Martin Hackl (Linguistics), Professor Lily Tsai (Political Science), Professor Christopher Leighton (History), Professor Graham Jones (Anthropology) as well as Juana Becerra, ’15, Malika Flanagan, ’15, and Liz Friedman (staff).


Suggested Links 

About the Award

Gallery of Previous SHASS Levitan Teaching Award Recipients