Research Portfolio | Music 

MIT SHASS launches The Listening Room 

Sharing MIT's music with the world

The finest music composed and performed by MIT’s renowned Music faculty and student-musicians is now available in The Listening Room — an online collection that showcases the Institute’s longstanding engagement with music. "The MIT mission is to serve humanity,” says Marcus Thompson, MIT Professor of Music, “and the arts provide a powerful way for our students to grow in knowledge and understanding of the human condition."

Four Channels | Classical, Jazz, World, Faculty Opus

The Listening Room site launches with 64 recordings organized in four musical categories — Classical, Jazz, World, and Faculty Opus. The collection, which is accompanied by photographs, historical notes, and comments from composers, will continue to grow steadily with regular additions of new compositions, and new performances from MIT’s Music groups, including the Festival Jazz Ensemble, Wind Ensemble, Chamber Music Society, Galak Tika (Balinese gamelan), Chamber Chorus, Concert Chorus, Rambax (drumming ensemble), the MIT Symphony Orchestra, and soloists from MIT’s conservatory-level Emerson Scholars Program. 

Commenting on the new online music collection, Deborah Fitzgerald, Kenan Sahin Dean of the MIT School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences said, “The arts at MIT are rooted in experimentation, risk-taking, and imaginative problem-solving. The Listening Room now opens the doors for a worldwide audience to enjoy the MIT musical experience."


Suggested Links

Story at MIT News

Video about Music at MIT

MIT Music | Website

The Listening Room