Faculty Honors and Awards | 2018


Professor Hausman elected to the British Academy
MIT Economist Jerry Allen Hausman, the John and Jennie S. MacDonald Professor of Economics, and a member of faculty of the MIT School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences, has been elected to the British Academy in recognition of his distinction in the field of economics.
Story by SHASS Communications

Eran Egozy wins $50K grant from Knight Foundation for Concert Cue
Twelve projects designed to harness the power of technology to engage people with the arts will receive $600,000 from the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation. The projects will receive $50,000 each to uncover new, potentially-replicable strategies for cultural organizations to adapt to and thrive in the digital era.
Press Release | Story at Fast Company

Amy Finkelstein elected to the National Academy of Arts and Sciences
Four MIT faculty members have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) in recognition of their “distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.”
Story at MIT News

Stephen Yablo wins Lebowitz Prize for Philosophical Achievement & Contributions
The Lebowitz Prize was established in 2012 in honor of Martin R. Lebowitz, a distinguished philosophical critic. Lebowitz Prize winners must be two philosophers who hold contrasting views on a chosen topic of current interest in philosophy. They present their views and engage in rich dialogue at an annual Lebowitz symposium at an APA divisional meeting and at a public lecture.
Story at APA Online

Four SHASS faculty named 2018 MacVicar Fellows
SHASS faculty David Autor of MIT Economics, Christopher Capozzola of MIT History, Shankar Raman of MIT Literature, and Merritt Roe Smith of MIT Program in Science, Technology, and Society, were named 2018 MacVicar Fellows for excellence in undergraduate teaching.
Story at MIT News

VR project “The Enemy” wins 2017 Rose d'Or | D. Fox Harrell
Works from seven countries were honored at the 56th Rose d’Or Awards in Berlin, including “The Enemy,” a virtual reality experience developed by MIT CAST artist Ben Khelifa in collaboration with CMS/W + CSAIL Professor D. Fox Harrell to explore VR’s potential to engender empathy and humanity. 
Story at EBU

Jing Wang awarded the Overseas Distinguished Professorship
China’s Ministry of Education has awarded Jing Wang, Professor of Chinese Media and Cultural Studies, the Overseas Distinguished Professorship, a five-year appointment at the University of Communication of China.
Jing Wang's website

Robin Wolfe Scheffler awarded the 2018 Levitan Prize
The prestigious award in the humanities includes a $30,000 grant that will support his research into the factors that influenced the development of Boston’s booming biotech industry. “It’s thrilling to receive this award, particularly at the very beginning of a project,” Scheffler says.
Story by SHASS Communications

Victor Chernozhukov receives Humboldt Research Award
Chernozhukov, Ford Professor of Economics, has been recognized for lifetime achievement in research. In addition, he will be invited to carry out research projects of his/her own choice in cooperation with colleagues in Germany.
Humboldt Foundation website

Lily Tsai selected to recipieve Committed to Caring Award
With this award, Tsai, Associate Professor of Political Science and Director of MIT GOV/LAB, is recognized by the MIT Office of Graduate Education for her outstanding advising and mentorship to graduate students.
MIT OGE website

Deborah Blum wins Endocrine Society Journalism Award
Deborah Blum, Director of the Knight Science Journalism Program at MIT, has been awarded the Endocrine Society Award for Excellence in Science and Medical Journalism.
Endocrine Society website